Space For Rent

Subsiste Sermonem Statim Subsiste Sermonem Statim

Geek Learnings of Unix for make benefit glorious head of kunal

Posted by Kunal on April 11, 2008

One of the best things about being a grad student is the fact that currently I have 3 machines at my disposal. Three linux machines have really brought out the Unix geek in me. I will try to document some cool tips that I have grokked from the interwebs. Without much ado, here are some learnings –

1. Coloured grep

Why didn’t anyone tell me about this before? This should be a standard IMHO. Just invoke grep with the option –color=tty for a coloured output. I have created an alias for this and put it in my .bashrc.

alias grep='grep --color=tty'

2. SSH

With multiple computers at your disposal, SSH is a necessity. One great feature of SSH is the ability to authenticate using public key. Not only is this method more secure than passwords, but it is also painless.

This page on Debian administration explains how easy it is to set up public key authentication.

3. Screen

I am a complete newbie to screen but it seems like an awesome tool. Screen is a great way to have persistent command line sessions. If you want to reconnect to your work terminal from your laptop or another machine, screen is just the solution. screen -dr is a real savior.

3 Responses to “Geek Learnings of Unix for make benefit glorious head of kunal”

  1. eeshan said

    3 machines with linux?
    must be giving you an awesome power feeling :P

  2. Dhruv said

    I’ve duly added stuff to my bashrc to mingle with grep’s output :-p
    Nice tip! I wonder why it isn’t the default, esp since ls and gcc both have colo[u]?r outputs these days.

  3. Kunal said

    I believe the latest Ubuntu distro comes with colored grep by default. I can’t be sure as I am carrying forward my old bashrc.

Leave a Reply

 
